On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »

Tune in to Listen

95.7 FM Sioux Falls, SD


Current Conditions(Sioux Falls,SD 57104)

More Weather »
63° Feels Like: 63°
Wind: WNW 16 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


AM Clouds/PM Sun 87°


Isolated Thunderstorms 60°


Sunny 79°


  • 0 Severe Weather Alerts
  • 0 Cancellations

Aerosmith's Steven Tyler and Joe Perry Score Songwriting Honor

Image courtesy of Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic (via ABC News Radio)

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) honored Aerosmith 's  Steven Tyler and Joe Perry  Wednesday night by presenting the rockers with the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award.

The award, given out during ASCAP's 30th annual Pop Music Awards at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, honors "pioneering songwriters" for their contributions to music, and for inspiring and influencing other musicians.

On the red carpet, ABC News Radio caught up with Debbie Gibson , who said Aerosmith's music, "resonates with people." She explained, "It's accessible...and spans so many decades at this point."

Diplo , a DJ and producer who has worked with the likes of No Doubt , Usher , and Beyonce , was also singled out at the event. He took home ASCAP's Vanguard Award, which honors up-and-coming songwriters. Diplo called Aerosmith the "quintessential rock band," and appreciated the Boston group's, "swag and...style," adding, "Aerosmith definitely had that."

Past recipients of the Founders Award include Billy Joel , Stevie Wonder , Paul McCartney , and Neil Young .

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio