On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »

Tune in to Listen

95.7 FM Sioux Falls, SD


Current Conditions(Sioux Falls,SD 57104)

More Weather »
63° Feels Like: 63°
Wind: SSE 15 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0.15”
Current Radar for Zip


Thunderstorms 68°


Mostly Cloudy 59°


AM Clouds/PM Sun 75°


  • 0 Severe Weather Alerts
  • 0 Cancellations

Bob Dylan to Release 10th Edition of His "Bootleg Series" Next Month

Image courtesy of Columbia Records (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Columbia Records (via ABC News Radio)

The 10th installment of Bob Dylan 's Bootleg Series is scheduled to arrive in stores on August 27 , a collection that will revisit a transitional period for the folk-rock legend that saw the end of the 1960s and the beginning of a new decade.  The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 -- Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) mainly features a variety of previously unreleased demos, outtakes and other recordings from the sessions that yielded Dylan's two 1970 studio efforts, Self Portrait and New Morning .

Another Self Portrait will be available as a standard two-CD set, as well as a four-disc package that also includes a remastered version of Self Portrait and a CD featuring the singer/songwriter's entire August 31, 1969, set with The Band at England's Isle of Wight Festival.

Despite its title, the Self Portrait album was a collection of traditional and modern folk songs mainly written by other artists, and initially was panned by many music critics.  The originally-released versions of the tunes featured overdubs recorded in Nashville, while a number of these same tunes appear on the new Bootleg Series release without the overdubs.

Perhaps in negative response to Self Portrait , Dylan returned later in 1970 with New Morning , a strong set of original songs more along the lines of his other studio efforts of that period.  Songs from these sessions featured on Another Self Portrait include an alternate version of "If Not for You" and two alternate renditions of "Time Passes Slowly."

In a nod to Self Portrait , the Another Self Portrait cover features a new self-painted portrait of Dylan's face.  The collection also will be sold as a three-LP vinyl set featuring the same 35 tracks as the two-CD edition.

Here is the complete track list of the deluxe version of The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 -- Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) , not including the remastered Self Portrait disc:

CD 1
"Went to See the Gypsy" (demo)
"In Search of Little Sadie" (without overdubs, Self Portrait )
"Pretty Saro" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"Alberta #3" (alternate version, Self Portrait )
"Spanish Is the Loving Tongue" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"Annie's Going to Sing Her Song" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"Time Passes Slowly #1" (alternate version, New Morning )
"Only a Hobo" (unreleased, Greatest Hits II )
"Minstrel Boy" (unreleased, The Basement Tapes )
"I Threw It All Away" (alternate version, Nashville Skyline )
"Railroad Bill" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"Thirsty Boots" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"This Evening So Soon" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"These Hands" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"Little Sadie" (without overdubs, Self Portrait )
"House Carpenter" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"All the Tired Horses" (without overdubs, Self Portrait )

CD 2
"If Not for You" (alternate version, New Morning )
"Wallflower" (alternate version, 1971)
"Wigwam" (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait )
"Days of '49" (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait )
"Working on a Guru" (unreleased, New Morning )
"Country Pie" (alternate version, Nashville Skyline )
"I'll Be Your Baby Tonight" (Live with The Band, Isle of Wight 1969)
"Highway 61 Revisited" (Live with The Band, Isle of Wight 1969)
"Copper Kettle" (without overdubs, Self Portrait )
"Bring Me a Little Water" (unreleased, New Morning )
"Sign on the Window" (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning )
"Tattle O'Day" (unreleased, Self Portrait )
"If Dogs Run Free" (alternate version, New Morning )
"New Morning" (with horn section overdubs, New Morning )
"Went to See the Gypsy" (alternate version, New Morning )
"Belle Isle" (without overdubs, Self Portrait )
"Time Passes Slowly #2" (alternate version, New Morning )
"When I Paint My Masterpiece" (demo)

Bob Dylan & The Band, Isle of Wight -- August 31, 1969
"She Belongs to Me"
"I Threw It All Away"
"Maggie's Farm"
"Wild Mountain Thyme"
"It Ain't Me, Babe"
"To Ramona"/"Mr. Tambourine Man"
"I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine"
"Lay Lady Lay"
"Highway 61 Revisited"
"One Too Many Mornings"
"I Pity the Poor Immigrant"
"Like a Rolling Stone"
"I'll Be Your Baby Tonight"
"Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)"
"Minstrel Boy"
"Rainy Day Women #12 & 35"

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio