On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »

Tune in to Listen

95.7 FM Sioux Falls, SD


Current Conditions(Sioux Falls,SD 57104)

More Weather »
88° Feels Like: 90°
Wind: WNW 12 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Isolated Thunderstorms 62°


Sunny 79°

Sat Night

Mostly Clear 53°


  • 0 Severe Weather Alerts
  • 0 Cancellations

Elton John Announces "The Diving Board" Release Date & Details

Image courtesy of Facebook.com/EltonJohn (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Facebook.com/EltonJohn (via ABC News Radio)

After unveiling the artwork for his upcoming studio effort, The Diving Board , Elton John has now announced that the album will arrive in stores September 24.  As previously reported, pre-orders are being taken now on iTunes.  Order The Diving Board now and you'll get an instant download of the album's first single, "Home Again."

The Diving Board will feature 12 new songs written by John and Bernie Taupin , as well as three "piano interludes" composed by Elton.  The record will be available in a variety formats including Standard, Deluxe, Super-Deluxe and 180-gram vinyl.  The Deluxe versions will feature a bonus track, "Candlelit Bedroom," as well as live versions of three of the songs that were recorded in Capitol Records Studios back in April.

The Super-Deluxe edition includes all of that, as well as a specially designed and embossed box, a photo book, an exclusive art print, a DVD of the Capitol Records Studios performances and the album on vinyl.

The Diving Board is a mostly stripped-down affair, focusing on John's piano and vocals, plus bass and drums.  In a statement, Elton says, "In many ways, I feel like I'm starting again, making records.  Several years ago...I had to ask myself, 'What kind of music do I really want to make?' and I realized that I had to go back to go forward again.  I needed to strip away the excesses and get back to the core of what I do as an artist.  That's what The Diving Board represents... The Diving Board is the album I've been waiting to make for decades."

Here's the track listing:

"Oceans Away"
"Oscar Wilde Gets Out"
"A Town Called Jubilee"
"The Ballad of Blind Tom"
"Dream #1"
"My Quicksand"
"Can't Stay Alone Tonight"
"Home Again"
"Take This Dirty Water"
"Dream #2"
"The New Fever Waltz"
"Mexican Vacation (Kids in the Candlelight)"
"Dream #3"
"The Diving Board"

"Candlelit Bedroom" [Deluxe & Super-Deluxe Versions]
"Home Again (live from Capitol Studios)" [Deluxe & Super-Deluxe Versions]
"Mexican Vacation (Kids in the Candlelight)" (live from Capitol Studios) [Deluxe & Super-Deluxe Versions]
"The New Fever Waltz" (live from Capitol Studios) [Deluxe & Super-Deluxe Versions]

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio