On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »

Tune in to Listen

95.7 FM Sioux Falls, SD


Current Conditions(Sioux Falls,SD 57104)

More Weather »
76° Feels Like: 76°
Wind: SSE 18 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Mostly Sunny 74°


Mostly Clear 58°


AM Clouds/PM Sun 86°


  • 0 Severe Weather Alerts
  • 0 Cancellations

Star-Studded DVD Collections Featuring Performances from "The Midnight Special" Due Out in September

Image courtesy of Image Courtesy of StarVista Entertainment (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Image Courtesy of StarVista Entertainment (via ABC News Radio)

If you were a music fan who grew up during the 1970s and early '80s, chances are you witnessed some amazing performances on the late-night variety series The Midnight Special .  Created by producer Bert Sugarman and usually hosted by famed disc jockey Wolfman Jack , the show featured many of the biggest rock, pop and comedy stars of the era performing live in front of a studio audience.

Now, three new DVD collections will be made available next month featuring highlights from The Midnight Special , which ran on NBC from 1972 to 1981.  The largest of these, an 11-DVD set called The Midnight Special Collector's Edition , will be sold exclusively online at MidnightSpecialDVDs.com .  The package, which lists for $99.95, can be pre-ordered now and will be shipped starting on September 8.

Among the many famous rock acts featured in the collection are AC/DC , Aerosmith , Blondie , Alice Cooper , The Doobie Brothers , Electric Light Orchestra , Fleetwood Mac , Peter Frampton , Heart and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers .  The set also offers a disc of stand-up comedy from Richard Pryor , Billy Crystal , George Carlin , Andy Kaufman , Steve Martin and Freddie Prinze ; a variety of featurettes; and interviews with such stars as Cooper, Frampton, Eddie Money , Todd Rundgren , Loggins & Messina and REO Speedwagon 's Kevin Cronin .

In addition to the Collector's Edition, a six-DVD set titled The Midnight Special Collection and a single-disc release called, simply, The Midnight Special will be sold via retail outlets beginning on September 9.  These package are available for the respective list prices of $59.95 and $12.95.

Here is just a sampling of the performances featured on The Midnight Special Collector's Edition :

"Dream On" -- Aerosmith
"Eighteen/Only Women/Billion Dollar Babies" Medley -- Alice Cooper
"Listen to the Music" -- The Doobie Brothers
"Evil Woman" -- Electric Light Orchestra
"Over My Head" -- Fleetwood Mac
"Show Me the Way" -- Peter Frampton
"Crazy on You" -- Heart
"Keep on Loving You" -- REO Speedwagon
"When Will I Be Loved" -- Linda Ronstadt
"American Girl" -- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
"Breezin'" -- Carlos Santana & George Benson

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio